Newspaper Collection Research Guide

NEW! Search The Oregonian index online! 1851-1987 NEW!

 

Newspapers in the Library

Finding Aids: Ways to Locate Old News NEW!
Current Subscriptions
(latest 2 weeks are retained)
Microform and Historical Collections
Newspaper Databases Newspapers and News Sources on the Web

Newspaper Databases

America's Historical Newspapers 1690 - 1876
Also known as Early American Newspapers, Series I, 1690-1876. This historical collection contains hundreds of historic newspapers listed in Clarence Brigham's authoritative bibliography and in additional subsequent bibliographies.

American Periodicals Series 1740 - 1900
This unique and valuable collection contains digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals that originated between 1741-1900, when Andrew Bradford's American Magazine and Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine were launched. Deriving from the acclaimed American Periodicals Series microform collection, APS Online features over 1,100 periodicals spanning nearly 200 years-from colonial times to the advent of American involvement in World War II. Titles range from America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository, to popular magazines like Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal.

Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe (Full-text):
Collection of full-text databases that indexes 124 regional, business, and international newspapers, including the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, Seattle Times, and London Times. Lexis-Nexis also includes newspapers in the Spanish, Dutch, French, Italian, and German languages.

NewspaperDirect PressDisplay (Full-text):
Newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format. Newspapers are in their original language. The collection currently includes over 230 titles. Just like reading the print edition, you can browse articles and other key content, such as pictures, advertisements, classifieds, and notices. There is a 60-day backfile and the ability to perform keyword searches within any issue.

Newspaper Source -- Ebscohost (Full-text):
Provides selected full text coverage of 143 U.S. and international newspapers, including Christian Science Monitor, New York Daily News, Chicago Tribune, Miami Herald, and San Jose Mercury News. International coverage includes The News (Mexico), The Hong Kong Standard, and much more.

Oregonian -- Newsbank (Full-text)
Full-text of the Portland Oregonian. The entire text is searchable or searches can be limited to headlines, authors, dates, and/or newspaper sections. Useful for information on all topics, but especially Pacific Northwest issues. Full-text: 1988-present

Index to The Oregonian (1851-1987)
This database indexes The Oregonian from 1851 to 1987. Search for your article using the index, then use the microfilm or database to retrieve the article's full-text.

Oregon Index:
Indexes 10 Oregon papers. Current file covering 1995 - present; backfile covering 1987-1994. Coverage: Oregonian, Jan 1988-Dec 1992; Statesman Journal, Jan 1987-date; Register-Guard, Jan 1988-date;Coos Bay World, Jan 1996-Mar 1996; Corvallis Gazette-Times, 1995-1996; Daily Astorian (incomplete coverage); Klamath Falls Herald and News, Jan-Mar 1996; LaGrande Observer, 1995-1996.

Newspapers in the Library

Current Subscriptions

Newspaper Room

The library receives many newspapers, including major national newspapers, some international newspapers, and many local Oregon newspapers. Subscriptions may include, but are not limited to the following. For an alphabetical listing of all newspapers, which the library currently receives, OSU Online Catalog, Call number, "Newspaper"

 
Oregon
Argus Observer (Ontario, OR) Appeal Tribune (Silverton, OR)
Baker City Herald (Baker City, OR) Bulletin (Bend, OR)
Burns Times-Herald (Burns, OR) C G Sentinel (Cottage Grove, OR)
Capital Press (Salem, OR) Chronicle (St. Helen's, OR)
Clackamas Co. News (Estacada, OR) Clatskanie Chief (Clatskanie, OR)
Courier (Reedsport, OR) Curry Coastal Pilot (Brookings, OR)
Curry Co. Reporter (Gold Beach, OR) The Dalles Chronicle (The Dalles, OR)
Daily Courier (Grants Pass, OR) Daily Journal of Commerce (Portland, OR)
Dayton Tribune (Dayton, OR) Democrat Herald (Albany, OR)
East Oregonian (Pendleton, OR) Gazette-Times (Corvallis, OR)
Gazette-Times (Heppner, OR) Graphic (Newberg, OR)
Headlight Herald (Tillamook, OR) Herald and News (Klamath Falls, OR)
Hermiston Herald (Hermiston, OR) Hood River News (Hood River, OR)
Independent (Woodburn, OR) Lebanon Express (Lebanon, OR)
Lake Co. Examiner (Lakeview, OR) Mill City Independent Press (Mill City, OR)
Malheur Enterprise (Vale, OR) News-Register (McMinnville, OR)
New Era (Sweet Home, OR) News Times (Newport, OR)
News Review (Roseburg, OR) Oregon Daily Emerald (Eugene, OR)
News-Times (Forest Grove, OR) Outlook (Gresham, OR)
Oregonian (Portland, OR) Polk Co. Itemizer Observer (Dallas, OR)
Pendleton Record (Pendleton, OR) Record Courier (Baker, OR)
Portland Observer (Portland, OR) Redmond Spokesman (Redmond, OR)
Register Guard (Eugene, OR) Siuslaw News (Florence, OR)
The Sandy Post (Sandy, OR) Spilyay Tymoo (Warm Springs, OR)
Skanner (Portland, OR) Statesman Journal (Salem, OR)
Spotlight (Scappose, OR) The Sun (Sheridan, OR)
Stayton Mail (Stayton, OR) Times (Brownsville, OR)
Tri-County News (Junction City, OR) Wallowa Co. Chieftain (Enterprise, OR)
West Lane News (Veneta, OR) Willamette Week (Portland, OR)
   

National
Chicago Tribune (Chicago, IL) (exp. Dec. 2006) Christian Science Monitor (Boston, MA)
Denver Post (Denver, CO) Honolulu Advertiser (Honolulu, HI
Journal of Commerce (NY, NY) New York Times (NY, NY)
Indian Country Today Los Angeles Times (Los Angeles, CA) (exp. Dec. 2006)
People (Sunnyvale, CA) San Francisco Chronicle (San Fran., CA) (exp. 10/06/2006)
San Francisco Examiner (San Fran., CA) Seattle Times (Seattle, WA) (exp. 12/31/2006)
USA Today (Arlington, VA) (exp. 10/19/2006) Wall Street Journal (NY, NY)
Washington Post (Washington, DC) (exp. 12/31/2006)

International
Al Watan (Kuwait) Le Monde (France)
Akhgar (Iran) Macroview Weekly (Taiwan)
Asian Link (Portland, OR) Nameh Mardon (Iran)
Business Weekly (China) Nikkei Weekly (Japan)
China Daily (China) (exp. Dec. 2006) People's Daily (Asia)
Epoch Times (China) People's Korea (No. Korea)
France Amerique (France) Portland Chinese Times (China)
Israel Today (Israel) Sing Tao Daily (China)
Japan Economic Review (Japan) Standard (England)
The Jerusalem Post (Isreal) (exp. Dec. 2006) Sunday Times (London, UK)
Korea Daily (So. Korea) Taiwan Journal (Taiwan)

Newspapers at the Circulation Desk

Daily issues of five newspapers are kept at the Circulation Desk, where they may be checked out for a two-hour loan period with a proper ID card (university ID, driver's license, etc.).

Corvallis Gazette-Times
Oregonian
New York Times
USA Today
Wall Street Journal

Microfilm and Historical Collections

Historical Newspaper Databases

America's Historical Newspapers 1690 - 1876

American Periodicals Series 1740 - 1900

 

Major Newspapers


Christian Science Monitor(AN .U5 C5)
Library holdings: 1908 - 1998
Location: Paper: Newspaper Room (2nd floor); Microfilm: Valley Microforms (3rd floor).
Index: Christian Science Monitor Index (1960-1995 - AN .U5 C5 - 3rd floor near microforms).
Electronic Access: Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe (full-text:1980-present); Newspaper Source (full-text: 1995-present).

New York Times(AN .U5 N7) Library holdings: 1851 - present
Paper: Newspaper Room (2nd floor - Latest issue only at Circulation Desk).
Microfilm: Valley Microforms (3rd floor).

Index:

New York Times Index (1851-1912 - AN .U5 N71 and 1913-present - AN .U5 N72 - 3rd floor near microforms);
Search the New York Times index online via their web site, 1851-present.
New York Times Obituary Index
(1858-1978 - CT 213 N47 v.1 and v.2 - 3rd floor near microforms)
Personal Name Index
(1851-1974 - CT104 F3 and 1975-present - CT104 F31 - 3rd floor near microforms).
Theater Reviews
(1920 - 1970 - Z6935 N48 1973 - 3rd floor near microforms)

Electronic Access: Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe (full-text: 1980 - present); Newspaper Source (index only: 1994-present).

Times (of London) (AN .G7 T49)
Library holdings: 1914-present
Location: Paper: Newspaper Room (2nd floor). Microfilm: Valley Microforms (3rd floor).
Index: The Times Index (1790-present - AN.G7 T495 and AN.G7 T5 - 3rd floor near microforms.).
Electronic Access: Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe (full-text:1985-present); Newspaper Source (full-text: 10/2000-present).

Wall Street Journal (HG1 .W2)
Library holdings: 1889 - present
Location: Paper: Newspaper Room (2nd floor - Latest issue only at Circulation Desk). Microfilm: Valley Microforms (3rd floor).
Index: Wall Street Journal Index (1958-1994 - HG1 W21 - 3rd floor near microforms).
Electronic Access: Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) (full-text: 1982-present).

Oregon Newspapers

Corvallis Gazette-Times (AN.U5 C6) See also AN.U5 C592 and AN.U5 C59
Library Holdings: 1921-present
Location: Paper: Newspaper Room (2nd floor -latest issue only at Circulation Desk). Microfilm: Valley Microforms (3rd floor)
Index: Card Catalog Index: 1952-1987 (Valley Microforms, 3rd floor).
Electronic Access: Oregon Index (Index only: 1995-1999)
Gazette-Times Online (archived from 2000-present)

Daily Barometer (LH1 .O7)
Library holdings: 1896 - present
Location: Paper: Newspaper Room (2nd floor). Microfilm: Valley Microforms (3rd floor).
Index: Paper: Daily Barometer Subject Index and Personal Name Index 1896-1980 (electronic access OR books - LH1.O7 pts 1 and 2 - 3rd floor near microforms)
Card Catalog: 1952-1987 (Valley Microforms, 3rd floor).
Electronic Access: Daily Barometer Online (archived from 9/2001-present);Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe (full text, 10/1997-present, select "News", then "University News" and change source field to "University Wire", select "Source List", then choose "OSU Daily Barometer".)

Oregonian (AN .U5 O66)
Library holdings: 1866 - present
Location: Paper: Newspaper Room (2nd floor - latest issue only at Circulation Desk). Microfilm: Valley Microforms (3rd floor).
Index: Online from the University of Oregon Libraries, 1851-1987; Card Catalog: 1952-1987 (Valley Microforms, 3rd floor); Oregon Index (1985-1992); Library Association of Portland Newspaper Index.
Electronic Access: Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe (full-text: 1999-present); Newspaper Source (business news only, 1997-present); Oregonian (Full text: 1988-present)

Register-Guard (AN .U5 E831)
Library holdings: 1968 - present
Location: Paper: Newspaper Room (2nd floor). Microfilm: Valley Microforms (3rd floor).
Index: Oregon Index 1988-2002; Register-Guard Weekly Index.
Electronic Access: Register-Guard Online.

Statesman Journal (AN .U5 O63)
Library holdings: 1888 - present
Location: Paper: Newspaper Room (2nd floor). Microfilm: Valley Microforms (3rd floor).
Index: Oregon Index.
Electronic Access: Statesman Journal Online.

Oregon Newspapers Online

Everything Oregon OregonLive.com features The Oregonian's output, the Associated Press NewsFlash and SportsFlash feeds, Sports Network content, Oregon high school sports reporting, entertainment calendars, Webcasts, streaming audio, forums, chat rooms, enhanced classifieds and more. OregonLive.com is separate from The Oregonian.

Oregon.com lists web sites of Oregon newspapers.

The Oregon Herald News OregonHerald.com offers online ad-free state, national and world news. Updated hourly.

Other Newspapers on Microfilm

Oregon:

Benton Bulletin AN.U5 B37 1976 - 1998
Benton County Courier AN .U5 B4 Mar. 18, 1915 - May 26, 1924
Benton County Herald AN U5 B42 Aug. 4, 1932 - May 18, 1978
Benton County Republican AN U5 B4 Oct. 11, 1906 - Mar. 11, 1915
Benton Democrat AN U5 B414 May 4, 1871 - Mar. 21, 1874
Benton Independent AN U5 B45 Apr. 18, 1924 - Mar. 24, 1932
Corvallis Gazette (weekly) AN U5 C592 Apr 22, 1865 - 1920
Corvallis Times AN U5 C59 Aug 2, 1893 - Jun 25, 1909
Newport Mercury AN U5 N761 1758 - 1775
Occidental Messenger (Corvallis) AN U5 W4 Sep 26, 1857 - Jun 5, 1858
Oregon Free Press AN U5 O59 Apr 8 - Dec 16, 1848
Oregon Journal AN U5 O6 Mar 11, 1902 - Sep 4, 1982
Oregon Labor Press HD6500 O726 1940 - 1985
Oregon Spectator F880 O711 v.1; 1846 - v.8; 1855
Oregon Union AN U5 O65 Jul 1897 - Feb 10, 1899
  (Mar 12, 1859 - Sept 30,1861 filmed with AN U5 W4)
Portland Reporter AN U5 P8 Feb 11, 1960 - Oct 1964
Willamette Bridge (Portland) AN U5 W48 Jul,20 1968 - Jul 14, 1971
Willamette Valley Observer AN U5 W5 Jan 1975 - Jul 21, 1982
Willamette Week AN U5 W52 1974 - June 5, 1999

National:

American Weekly Mercury AP2 A2 A838 Dec 22, 1719 - May 22, 1746
Boston Post Boy AN U5 B642 Nov 12, 1744 - Apr 17, 1775
Chicago Defender AN U5 C4 Apr 2, 1921 - 1980
Daily Journal of Commerce HF5001 .D27 1953 - Apr 16, 1974
Daily Republican AN U5 B39 Jan 2 - Feb 19, 1915
Daily Worker AN U5 W6 1919 - July 14, 1968
Daily World AN U5 D3 Jul 1968 - Jun 1974
Gales Independent Gazeteer AN U5 G3 Nov 1786 - 1797
Hemingford Ledger (Lincoln, NE) AN U5 H461 Oct 7, 1915 - Mar 3, 1938
Independent Gazetteer AN U5 G3 Nov 22, 1786 - Sept 12, 1797
Maryland Gazette AN U5 M371 1745 - 1789
National Observer (Wash., D.C.) AN U5 N35 Feb 1962 - Jul 11, 1977
Newbern (NC) Gazette AN U5 N741 1798 - 1804 (scattered issues)
North Carolina Gazette AN U5 N871 Nov 1751 - Oct 1759 (lacks many issues)
Jun 1768 - Nov 1778 (lacks many issues)
North Carolina Mercury AN U5 N741 1799 - 1801 (scattered issues)
Pennsylvania Evening Herald & General Advocate AN U5 P4 1785 - Feb 14, 1788
Pennsylvania Evening Post & Daily Advertiser AN U5 P42 1775 - 1779
Pennsylvania Ledger or Philadelphia Market Day advertiser AN U5 P44 Nov 11, 1775 - May 23, 1778
Pennsylvania Mercury & Philadelphia Price current AN U5 P45 1786 - 1792 (for 8/20/1784 - 1/20/1786 see AN U5 G3)
Philadelphische Zeitung AN .U5 P481 1755 - 1757
Pittsburgh Courier AN U5 P5 Mar 25, 1911 - 1912; 1923 - 1973
Triweekly Republican AN U5 B38 Jun 21, 1900 - Jun 17, 1910
Vietnam Courier DS557 A1 V45 Jun 10, 1964 - Apr 24, 1972
Virginia Gazette AN U5 V5 Sep 6, 1736 - Dec 9, 1780
Virginia Journal & Alexandria Advertiser AN U5 V52 Feb 5, 1784 - Nov 24,1795
Woodburn Opportunity News HD1527 O7 O6 v.1; 1965 - v.4; 1968
The Worker AN U5 W6 Film 1919 -Jul 14, 1968


International:
Der Hoch-Deutsche AN U5 H581 1739 - 1745 & 1756 - 1762
Japan (Nippon) Times AN J3 J29 Dec 1941 - 1945
Manchester Guardian Weekly AN G7 M3 v.66; 1952 - v.155; Dec. 1996
Pravda AN R8 P7 1961 - June 1999


Finding Aids: Ways to Locate Old News

The bibliographic indexes below allow you to identify newspaper articles from specific time periods in papers we own and in papers we do not own. If OSU does not collect a copy of the newspaper you are looking for, and you are an OSU student, faculty, or staff member, you may request a copy of a newspaper article through Inter-Library Loan if a full and accurate citation is provided to the ILL office. Submit an ILL request.

Antislavery Newspapers and Periodicals (E449 .A621)
Volume two provides an annotated index of letters in the Liberator, Anti-Slavery Record, Human Rights, and the Observer, 1835-1865.

Early American Newspapers, Series I, Online: 1690-1876
Also known as America’s Historical Newspapers. Series I offers more than 700 historical American newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia printed between 1690 and 1876. Focusing largely on the 18th century, Series I is based on Clarence S. Brigham’s “History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820″ and other authoritative bibliographies.

The University of Oregon Libraries maintains a large collection of newspapers published in Oregon, the United States, and around the world, both current and historical. For more information about this collection, please refer to the University of Oregon Libraries guide, Finding Newspapers http://libweb.uoregon.edu/guides/newspapers/papers.html
Access to this material would be in person at the University of Oregon's Knight Library or through interlibrary loan with very specific citation information in order to quickly and easily located a desired article.

Eugene Newspaper Index: 1855-1870 (AN .U5 E8)

Library Association of Portland Newspaper Index(AI3 .P78) Indexes issued in 1980 cover state and local news, ca. 1905-1979, from the Oregon Journal, the Oregonian (with selected indexing from the Portland Telegram (1919-1931), and the Portland Reporter (1960-1964), and retrospective indexing to 1851 from miscellaneous sources. Indexes issued in 1985- cover the Oregonian, Oregon Journal, Willamette Week, and Business Journal.

Newspaper Indexes: A Location and Subject Guide for Researchers: (REF AI3 .M5 1977)

Oregon Newspapers on Microfilm: (REF Z6952 .O7 O71 & REF Z6952 .O7 O71 1989)

Oregon Spectator (Indexes) 1846-1854 (AI21 .O7)

Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature  (REF AI3 .R4)
Sometimes refers to NY Times articles.

Newspapers and News Sources on the Web

AJR NewsLink: Links to online newspapers from the American Journalism Review.
All the World's Newspapers: Links to world newspapers from Australia's WebWombat.
College News Online: Links to full-text online college newspapers from campuses around the U.S.
Hawaiian Newspapers Project: A collection of historical Hawaiian newspapers provided by ALU LIKE, Inc., Hale Kuamo`o, and the Bishop Museum.
NewsDirectory.com: From the Electric Library.
News & Newspapers Online: From the Walter Clinton Jackson library at UNC-Greensboro.

Many search engines (Google, AltaVista, etc.) provide a "News" section, which may be helpful in locating contemporary news information.

Back to Contents

For questions about newspapers, please contact Jane Nichols at ph: 737-7269 or jane.nichols@oregonstate.edu.

Return to the Alphabetical or Subject index of the Subject Research Guides.