Resources for Finding and Writing Grants

Contents

OSU Subscription Resources

IRIS (Illinois Researcher Information Service)
The IRIS Database contains records on over 8,600 federal and private funding opportunities in all fields, from agriculture to zoology. The database is updated daily, and every record in the database is reviewed and edited at least once a year.
Short course page found here
Guide to searching tips found here -- note the tutorial at top of page!
Alerting service offered here

Additional Online Resources

Federal Government

Grants.gov

Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce

Individual Government Agencies

GrantsNet
From the Department of Health & Human Services

National Science Foundation

Health & Human Services

National Institute of Health

Environmental Protection Agency
Includes environmental education grants

Department of Education

Foundation Information

Council on Foundations

The Foundation Center
They offer a Proposal Writing Short Course

National Endowment for the Humanities

Grant Information Portals

Edweek.org Grants Available

TGCI, The Grantsmanship Center
A grant writing information portal

OSU Research Office

Online Publications

The Grantsmanship Center Magazine

The Foundation News

Philanthropy Journal

Additional resources

Philanthropy research guide

Social Science Research Council
Tips for proposal writing

EPA Grant Writing Tutorial

Effective Communication Skills for Writing Grant Proposals

How to Get Money from Afterschool.gov

Print Resources at the Valley Library

General

Annual Register of Grant Support
Ref LB 2338 .A5
Non-repayable support for individuals and institutions from government agencies, public and private foundations, corporations, community trusts, unions, associations, and special interest organizations. Covers academic and scientific research, project development, travel and exchange programs, in-service training, competition/awards, and equipment grants. Indexed by subject and geographical location.

Directory of Research Grants
Ref LB2338 D57.
Support for research projects from federal agencies, private foundations, corporations, professional organizations, some state and foreign governments. Preface has information on submitting proposals.

The Grants Register
Ref LB2338 .G7.
Geared to students and scholars at or above the graduate level and or those who require further professional or advanced vocational training. Lists assistance from government agencies, international/national/private organizations. Includes scholarships, fellowships, research grants, exchange opportunities, travel grants, vacation-study grants, grants-in-aid, grants for artistic/scientific projects, competitions, honoraria, prizes, awards. Subject index in front.

The Foundation Directory
Ref AS 911.A2 F6
Current data on the U.S. funders with assets of at least $2 million or who distribute $200,000 or more in grants annually. Includes information on more than 7,900 major foundations. Arranged by state; indexed by program area and by individual administrators, donors, and trustees.

The Foundation Directory, Part 2
Ref AS 911.A2 F652
Current data on over 5000 mid-sized foundations with assets between $1 million and $2 million or annual grant programs of between $50,000 and $200,000.

Education

National guide to funding for elementary and secondary education, 5th Ed.
LC243.N28 1999
Provides a descriptive directory of funding agencies and indexes that cover donors, geographic access, types of support, subject area and alphabetic access.

The complete grants sourcebook for higher education, 3rd Ed.
Ref LB2336.B38 1995
Information on the process of writing successful grant applications as well as a directory of funding sources and indexes by subject, state, etc.

The first-time grantwriter's guide to success
LC243.A1 K56 2002

Grant writing in higher education : a step-by-step guide
LC241.H46 2004

Finding funding: grantwriting from start to finish, including project management and Internet use
LB2825.F522 2001

The principal's guide to winning grants
LC243.A1 B36 1999

Simplified grantwriting
LC241.B87 2002

Designing successful grant proposals
LB2342.O75 2002eb -- An electronic book

Subject Headings

Educational fund raising
Proposal writing for grants