Downloading Bibliographic Citations for Use with EndNote

Note: These instructions apply to PC users accessing the web version of the OSU Libraries Catalog and the Summit (Orbis) catalog. Mac users may need to adjust the instructions for their platform.

Contents

Downloading Citations from the OSU Libraries Catalog and the Summit Catalog

  1. When book record is displayed, click on the "Save Record" button in the OSU Libraries Catalog or the "Export" button in Summit.
    OSU:OSU: Save Record SUMMIT:Summit: Save
  2. Continue searching. Multiple records can be added to a single list for exporting.
  3. OR you may mark multiple records from a Browse screen and then click on the "Save Marked Records" button.
  4. When ready to download citations, click on the "View Saved Records" button in the OSU Libraries Catalog or the "Export List" in Summit:
    OSU:OSU: View Saved Records SUMMIT:Summit: Export List
  5. Select EndNote format.
  6. Select method of download: email or local disk. Then click on the Submit button.

    Screen shot of catalog print window

  7. In the Save As... window, select where you want to save the file and name your file.
  8. Change the Save as type: option to display Plain text (*.txt). EndNote can only import plain text files.

    Save As window

  9. When importing records into your EndNote library, use the EndNote Import filter.

Downloading Citations from Bibliographic Databases

Click on a database for download instructions. Printer-friendly version.

CAB Direct (CAB Abstracts, Forest Science, Global Health)
Mark your records. At the bottom of the screen, select EndNote from the menu located next to the Export button. Click Export. You can directly import citations by clicking Open and locating your library.

Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts, Environmental Science & Pollution Abstracts, NTIS, Oceanic Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, Toxline, Zoological Record)
From the search results screen, click on "Save/Print/Email". Then, select the following: Full Format, Save File Format: PC or Mac (as appropriate). Click "Save".

EBSCOhost (Academic Search Premier, AGRICOLA, American History & Life, Business Source Premier, CINAHL, ERIC, GeoRef, Historical Abstracts, INSPEC, MEDLINE, MLA International Bibliography, PsycINFO)
Mark your records. Click on "Folder has items". Select the items and click "Export". Then use one of these options to save your references:

Option 1 (recommended): Select "Direct Export to EndNote, ProCite, or Reference Manager". Click "Save". EndNote will prompt you to open the library you want to use. Once you locate and open your library, the references will be automatically imported.

Option 2: Select "Generic bibliographic management software". Click "Save". The references will be reformatted into a web page. Under the File menu (of this new web page), select "Save As...". Name your file and under Save as type change the type to Text File (*.txt). Click Save.

FirstSearch (ArticleFirst, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Dissertation Abstracts, EconLit, ERIC, GeoBase, MEDLINE, WorldCat)
Mark your records. Click on "Export". Select EndNote and click "Export".

Option 1: Click "Open", locate your library and select correct filter.

Option 2: Click "Save to Disk". Use the correct filter to import the references.

Web of Science (Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index)
Select records and click "Export to Reference Software". Save. If you save the file, you’ll need to use a filter to import the references. If you open the file and locate your library, the references will import directly.

Ovid Technologies (Biological Abstracts/BIOSIS, SPORTDiscus)
Once you've selected your search results, scroll to the bottom of the page. Under "Fields", select "Complete Reference" and "Reprint/Medlars" as the result format. Click "Save". Select "Windows Style Linefeeds" (or Macintosh, if appropriate). Click "Continue", and "Save to Disk".

PubMed
Select "MEDLINE" format from the display menu. Under the "Send To" menu, select "File".

SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)
Select your records and click on the "Save As" button. Name your file and save as a "tagged format" text file. Use the SciFinder (CAS) filter to import citations.

ComAbstracts
Click "Add to folder" for each record of interest to you. In the folder of your records, mark the ones you want to download and select "Download checked items in RIS format". Save the file and import into your EndNote library using the Reference Manager (RIS) filter.

Wilson (Art Index, Essay & General Literature Index, Library Literature)
Select your references. Click "Get Marked". From your marked records, click "Print, Email, Save" and choose "Export to RefWorks, EndNote". Select the EndNote filter option. Click "Export". Use the WilsonWeb filter to import citations.

Anthropological Literature
Select your items and click "Export to bibliographic software". Choose EndNote and click "Save". To import into your EndNote library, use the Reference Manager (RIS) filter.

Compendex
Select your items and click "Download". Choose the "RIS, EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager" option.

Option 1: Click "Open" and locate your library.

Option 2: Click "Save to Disk". Use the Reference Manager (RIS) filter to import the references.

NISC (Fish & Fisheries Worldwide, Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide)
Check the items of interest to you and click the "Output" tab at the top of the page. Click "Export to database". Choose EndNote and click "Save". To import into your EndNote library, use the Reference Manager (RIS) filter.

IEEE Electronic Library (IEL)
Click "View Selected Items". In the "Download Citations" window on the left side of the screen, select EndNote and click the double-arrow button. Save the file and use the Reference Manager (RIS) format to import into your EndNote library.