Faculty Senate Records (RG 44)
4 cubic feet and 5 reels of microfilm

Scope and Content Note
The Faculty Senate records document the development, administration and activities of the OSU Faculty Senate and its various committees .

Due to differences in the series designations between the paper and microfilm records in this group, the microfilm reels are described separately below and in the inventory.

The paper records are organized into six series: I. Committees; II. Minutes; III. Reports to the Faculty Senate; IV. Awards; V. Studies, Opinion Papers, and Addresses; and VI. Subject Files.

Series I contains correspondence, minutes, memoranda, annual committee reports, and studies generated by the Faculty Senate's committees. Two of the major committees represented in this series are the Executive and the Faculty Economic Welfare Committee. The latter examined issues pertaining to faculty salaries and benefits. One cubic foot of Faculty Senate materials from the records of C. W. Hovland, Department Chair of Religious Studies and president of the Faculty Senate from 1978 to 1979, has been transferred into this series. Series II consists of minutes of the Faculty Senate. The microfilm records also contain minutes of the Faculty Senate and cover one year (1956) not in the paper records. Series III are Reports to the Senate sent to Senate members outlining meeting agendas and memoranda and reports from committees.

Series IV contains informational materials and memoranda regarding the presentation of the OSU Distinguished Service Awards. Nomination packets of the winners of the Distinguished Service Award and other awards (containing curriculum vitas and letters or recommendation) are also in this series.

Series V consists of studies, opinion papers, and addresses prepared for the Faculty Senate by faculty members, committees, and outside consultants. Series VI contains general correspondence, a handbook, memoranda, and informational reports relating to the administrative structure, policies, and history of the Faculty Senate.

The 5 reels of Faculty Senate microfilm records date from 1944 to 1971 and consist primarily of correspondence, minutes, committee and curriculum council reports, informational materials, and memoranda. The minutes, informational material, and reports were created by the Committee On Faculty Organization, an ad hoc committee formed by the University to establish the Faculty Senate. The microfilm also contains correspondence, memoranda, and reports from the Committee On Committees and the Publication Advisory Committee. Series numbers in brackets on the inventory correspond to series indicators in the microfilm.

New Accession, 2008


Historical Note
Composed of representatives from all academic and administrative units, the Faculty Senate is the primary governing body of the University, responsible for academic policies, educational standards, curricula, academic regulations, and faculty welfare. In its capacity as the University's legislative body, the Faculty Senate presents recommendations to the President of the University, who has the authority to pass or veto any measure submitted. Organized in 1945 by the Committee on Resident Faculty Organization, the Faculty Senate (formerly known as the Faculty Council prior to 1957) was the first faculty body at Oregon State University that included elected representatives.

Shelf Location

Related Materials
The OSU Staff Newsletter (Pub 8-22a) includes the Faculty Senate Minutes and indexes from 1965-1977. The D. Curtis Mumford Papers include records of the Faculty Economic Welfare Committee of the Faculty Senate.

Microfilm Inventory

Paper Records Inventory

Institutional Records Page Return to Institutional Records Page
Prepared by: Karl McCreary