databases
Don't see your article in that database? Help might be 1 click away!
So you are searching in an article database, and you find the abstract for an article you want, but the full article is nowhere to be found? Don't get frustrated! If the OSU Libraries have the article anywhere, you can frequently find it with just a couple of clicks.
Â
Here's a sample set of search results from Academic Search Premier. I'm using this as an example, but the basic set of tips here will work in all kinds of article databases, not just EBSCOhost databases.
Â
Need to find "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" or "academic" articles? Improve your odds with EBSCOhost databases!
By checking a couple of boxes on a search form, you can improve your odds of finding the sources that will work for an assignment requiring "peer-reviewed" or "scholarly" articles.
This trick won't guarantee that you find scholarly articles, but it will improve your odds by filtering out a lot of sources that are clearly not scholarly.
From the library homepage, choose Databases from the Quicklinks list.
Â
Company information - quick and easy with Lexis-Nexis
Go to the library homepage at http://osulibrary.oregonstate.edu (if you click the link now, it'll open in a new window).
Choose Databases from the Quicklinks.

Â
Use the A-Z list (the pink area in the picture below) at the top of the Databases page to go to the L's.
Groupwork? Sharing sources with MyEBSCOhost
One big plus side to saving your work online is that it is really easy to share that work with other people - which comes in really handy when you have groupwork to do.
Here's how to create a folder that you can easily share with a study group or project group using your My EBSCOhost account.
Go to the library homepage at http://osulibrary.oregonstate.edu (if you open this link now, it'll open up in a new window).
Save your research online with a My EBSCOhost account
So the other day I was working on a research question, and I was trying to find an article that I know is out there - I know I saw it while I was working on this project. And I tried and tried to remember the search terms that I used that other time so that I could find it again.
Make a research folder - stay organized and save time
Â
Most article databases let you create lists or folders of articles to save, print out, or email to yourself - basically, to keep yourself organized.
Here's how to do this in EBSCOhost databases.
Go to the library homepage at http://osulibrary.oregonstate.edu (if you open this link right now, it'll open in a new window).
Choose Databases from the Quicklinks list.
Â
Easy bibliographies using EBSCOhost and cut and paste
Go to the library homepage at http://osulibrary.oregonstate.edu (if you click the link now, it'll open in a new window).
Choose Databases from the Quicklinks.
Â

Â

